

POSLANECKÁ SNĚMOVNA PARLAMENTU ČESKÉ REPUBLIKY



COUNCIL OF EUROPE





Parliamentary Assembly Assemblée parlementaire



PUBLIC SERVICE MEDIA AND DEMOCRACY

Conference

hosted by the Chamber of Deputies of the Parliament of the Czech Republic

Poslanecka Snemovna, Sněmovni 1, Praha 1

10 & 11 November 2016, Prague

PROGRAMME

Thursday 10 November 2016

09:00-09:30 Welcome addresses

Mr Jan Hamáček, Speaker of the Chamber of Deputies of the Czech Parliament Mr Jean Paul Philippot, President of EBU Ms Gülsün Bilgehan, Chairperson of the Sub-Committee on Media and Information Society of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe (PACE)

Keynote addresses by video messages

Mr Martin Schulz, President of the European Parliament Mr Thorbjørn Jagland, Secretary General of the Council of Europe

09:30-10:00 Coffee

Panel 1

10:00-12:00 Role and responsibility of parliaments in freedom of expression and freedom of media

Chair: Mr Jan Kleijssen, Director of Information Society and Action against Crime, Council of Europe

Panellists:

Ms Dunja Mijatovic, OSCE Representative of Freedom of the Media Mr Stefan Schennach, Member of the Committee on Culture, Science, Education and Media of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe Mr Tarlach McGonagle, Institute for Information Law, Amsterdam, Council of Europe expert

Moderator: Mr Boris Bergant, EBU **Rapporteur**: Mr Gvozden Flego, University of Zagreb

Discussion

Panel 2

12:00-14:00 Modern public service media and its impact on society and democracy

Chair: Mr Jean Paul Philippot, EBU

Panellists:

Mr Petr Dvorak, Director General of Czech TV Ms Elfa Ýr Gylfadottir, Chairperson of the Council of Europe Steering Committee on Media and Information Society (CDMSI) Dr Klaus Unterberger, ORF

Moderator: Mr Boris Bergant, EBU **Rapporteur**: Dr Juan Barata Mir, Council of Europe expert

Discussion

14:00-15:30 Lunch

Panel 3 15:30-17:30 PSM governance: ensuring institutional and editorial independence

Chair: Ms Elfa Ýr Gylfadottir, CDMSI

Panellists:

Mr Jean François Furnemont, Council of Europe expert Mr Michael Wagner, EBU Ms Irina Radu, President of the Public Service Broadcaster of Romania (TVR) Mr Mogens Blicher Bjerregard, President of the European Federation of Journalists

Moderator: Mr Boris Bergant, EBU Rapporteur: Mr. Giacomo Mazzone

16:00-16:15 Coffee break

Discussion

Friday 11 November 2016

Panel 4

09:00-11:00 Hate speech: parliaments', regulators' and PSM responsibility, European Court of Human Rights case law

Chairperson: Ms Gülsün Bilgehan, Chairperson of the PACE Sub-Committee on Media and Information Society

Panellists:

Ms Mirjana Lazarova-Trajkovska, Judge, European Court of Human Rights Ms Rachael Kondak, Office of Commissioner for Human Rights of the Council of Europe

Ms Mirjana Rakic, Agency for Electronic Media of the Republic of Croatia Ms Helena Mandic, Director of Broadcasting of the Communications Regulatory Agency of Bosnia and Herzegovina Mr Boris Navasardian, President of theYerevan Press Club

Moderator: Mr Boris Bergant, EBU **Rapporteur**: Mr Jean Francois Furnemont, Council of Europe expert

Discussion

11:00-11:15 Coffee break

Panel 5

11:15-13:00 Sustainability of PSM – the way ahead

Chairperson: Ms Ingrid Deltenre, Director-General of the EBU

Panellists:

Dr Roberto Suarez Candel, EBU Mr Vaclav Mika, Director-General of Slovak public service broadcaster RTVS Ms Celene Craig, Chairperson of European Platform of Regulatory Authorities (EPRA)

Moderator: Mr Boris Bergant, EBU Rapporteur: Ms Radka Betcheva, EBU

Discussion

13:00-14:30 Lunch

Panel 6 14:30-15:30 Conclusions and recommendations

Chair: Ms Ingrid Deltenre, Director-General of the EBU and Mr Jan Kleijssen, Director of Information Society and Action against Crime, Council of Europe

Panellists:

Mr Gvozden Flego, University of Zagreb Dr Juan Barata Mir, Council of Europe expert Ms Radka Betcheva, EBU Mr Jean Francois Furnemont, CoE expert Mr Giacomo Mazzone, EBU

Discussion

15:30-16:00 Closing speech

Mr Jan Hamáček, Speaker of the Chamber of Deputies of the Czech Parliament

Languages English, Czech

Contact Persons

Ms Lejla Dervisagic, Council of Europe, DG I: <u>Lejla.DERVISAGIC@coe.int</u> Mr Rüdiger Dossow, Council of Europe Parliamentary Assembly: <u>rudiger.dossow@coe.int</u> Ms Radka Betcheva, EBU: betcheva@ebu.ch Mr Giacomo Mazzone, EBU: mazzone@ebu.ch